recipe: let them eat cake

We have a lot of food allergies and intolerances in this house and the list grows by the day (for me anyway). Recently I’ve had to get serious about cross contamination and cut out eggs so that meant my go-to Namaste chocolate cake mix was no longer an option.  Weep with me.  This past weekend with Hopper’s birthday, everyone around me was eating cake cake cake that I couldn’t eat even though I made it.  Ouch.

By Sunday night I was seriously craving some chocolate cake with white frosting.  I was prepared to scour the internets for a vegan cake recipe that I could make gluten-free.  No reason to look far, the first link in my search was the winner.  I tweaked it, because I’m an intuitive cook and I always tweak things.  My tweaking is based on this recipe, which is essentially another iteration of the “Wacky Cake” recipe that has been around for years.  The frosting recipe is one I’ve been using for quite some time and don’t remember where it came from.

Vegan Chocolate Cake

gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, corn-free, nut-free, egg-free, but NOT taste-free!

1.5 cups flour mix*

2/3 cups sugar

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp ground chia seeds

1 cup So Delicious coconut milk (you can use water)

1 tsp vanilla

1/3 cup of oil (I used sunflower)

1 tsp apple cider vinegar

The recipe called for a 8×8 pan, but I broke both of ours recently, so I used a 6×9 pan and it came out great. It also calls for mixing right in the pan, but I didn’t and it came out just fine. I made sure my pan was ready so I could mix, pour and get it in the oven fast.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  I don’t always fully preheat, but I think it’s important to for this recipe because you want the cake in the hot oven as soon as possible so you can take full advantage of the chemical reactions that create the wonderful cake fluffiness.

Grease your pan with a bit of oil or shortening.

In a bowl, mix the dry ingredients.  Pour in the wet ingredients and mix well.  The batter will be thin.  Pour immediately into your greased pan and pop into the oven.

Cook for 30 minutes or until a knife comes out clean.  Let cool completely.

The comments in the original recipe indicate it can be doubled but I have not tried this yet.

Vanilla Frosting

gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, corn-free, nut-free, egg-free

1 cup powdered sugar (Whole Foods brand is cut with tapioca starch instead of corn starch)

2 Tbsp + 2 tsp palm shortening (I use Spectrum brand)

1 Tbsp milk substitute of your choice

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Blend until smooth.  If it’s too thin, add more sugar.  If it’s too thick, add a bit more milk and/or shortening. Frost on your cooled cake.

For added deliciousness, refrigerate your frosted cake.  Oh. My. God.  I discovered this by accident because my frosting came out a little thin, but in the process of making it I’d broken my mixer (sigh) so there wasn’t much to be done to remedy it.  The Man, who had leftover cake from the party with eggs in it that he could eat, kept eating mine out of the fridge because it was that good.  That. Good.   The whole cake was gone in a day between the two of us.  Chill out, it was small.  Ahem.

Enjoy!

*Flour Mix

adapted from this recipe

2.5 cups brown rice flour

1.5 cups millet flour

1.5 cups tapioca starch OR potato starch

1 Tbsp + 1 tsp guar gum

2 tsp salt

3 Tbsp baking powder

I make up a bunch of this and keep it in a canister on the counter.  1 cup mix + 1 egg + 1 cup milk makes lovely pancakes.

6 thoughts on “recipe: let them eat cake

    • let me know how it comes out for you 🙂 I put the chia in last by mistake tonight and it was not at all a thin batter. waiting to see how that turns out… *cue ominous music*.

  1. Suddenly I want cake. D@mn, I’m outta chia & cocoa powder! BTW, you can make your own corn-free powdered sugar in the blender, easy peasy. 1c sugar + 1T potato or tapioca starch (nearest Whole Foods is 30 minutes away from us… it’s the only place I can find safe olives though.)

    • oh, I never thought of that! every time I’ve tried to make powdered sugar in the past it comes out pretty grainy in the frosting. but, I shall try with the Vitamix and add the tapioca and see what I get. thanks mama!

    • Let me know how it comes out for you! I’m always interested in feedback on my recipes. Are you gluten free or have other food restrictions?

Leave a Reply

