kombucha: maple style

I’ve been brewing again for the last couple months.  There’s something so satisfying about fermenting and drinking kombucha; the ritual of brewing the tea, mixing in the sugar, watching the culture change and grow.  If you’ve never tried it, or tried one of the over-fermented versions on the store shelves, you should consider giving home-brewing a try.  I like being able to stop the ferment when it tastes right to me and play around with different sweeteners and teas.

Recently I decided to try fermenting with maple syrup to get a more local bent on my kombucha.  The taste is unique and it’s still growing on me.  My method was simply replacing the sugar in my brew 1:1 with maple syrup.  Easy breezy.

Leave a Reply

