recipe: chocolate chip cookie pie

I technically made this last weekend as well as today, so I’m back posting.  It’s my blog so, you know, my rules. 

We’ve all totally lost our minds over this pie.  It’s not exactly a pie, it’s supposed to be blondies, but I’m a renegade not exactly a rule follower when it comes to recipes, so I call it a pie, and so it is.

The recipe I started with is here at Chocolate Covered Katie – a blog that I’ve developed a deep appreciation for over the last few months.  Healthy and dessert are not usually two words you find hanging out together, but her recipes are healthy and the ones I’ve tried (and inevitably tweaked) are complete awesomeness.  She also has a Deep Dish Cookie Pie recipe, but it calls for oats and I react to the Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free oats so no oats, and no Deep Dish Cookie Pie, for me.

I’m posting my version of the cookie pie here with a few tweaks and my method, which is slightly different as well.  I even took pictures (look at me flashing all that forethought around like I know what I’m doing).  The best part about this particular cookie pie is that it’s just me and the baby this week and, well, chocolate isn’t for babies.  (insert maniacal laughter here)

Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie

2 cups cooked chick peas (I used dried/soaked/cooked, you can use canned, be sure to drain and rinse and note that one can is only about 1.5 cups, which is what is called for in the original recipe)

1/4 cup ground flax seed

1/2 cup brown sugar (or 1/2 cup white sugar + 1/2 tsp molasses)

1/2 tsp cream of tartar + 1/2 tsp baking soda (or 3/4 tsp baking powder + 1/4 tsp baking soda)

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup fat source (she recommends nut butter, I’ve used 2 Tbsp coconut butter + 2 Tbsp sunflower oil and 2 Tbsp coconut butter + 2 Tbsp coconut oil – both work well)

1/3 – 1/2 cup chocolate chips (I’ve discovered Enjoy Life are not corn free, Tierra Farms appear corn free, but do have non-GMO soy lecithin)

My method:

Preheat your oven to 350 F.  Prepare an 8 inch pie plate by tearing a piece of parchment the size of your plate and setting it on top of the pie plate (don’t bother trying to get it to set in, it will be an exercise in futility, but don’t fret, it will magically work out in the end).

Toss two cups of chick peas in Vitamix, blender or food processor and blend well.  I prefer this as opposed to Katie’s suggestion of blending it all together because it’s easier to get the plain chick peas out than if you put it all (except the chocolate chips) in the Vitamix/food processor.  More chick peas = more dough = more cookie pie. The math is simple, really.

Put blended/processed chick peas in a bowl.  Add the rest of the ingredients being careful not to pour your vanilla extract in the same spot as your baking powder.  The moisture of the vanilla will start the bubbling action of the baking powder and you’ll lose that benefit (rendering the addition of baking powder moot).

Mix all of the ingredients with a hand mixer or fork.  When well blended, fold in your chocolate chips.  Scrape your batter into a nice ball.  Remember that parchment sitting on top of your pie plate, plop your dough ball into the center of that and press the dough out to the sides.  I never press all the way out to the edges of the plate, it’s not necessary.  My pies end up being about 7″ across.

Put in your preheated oven for 40 minutes.  Cool for about 10 minutes.  Cut into 8 pieces, or just take a spoon to it, your call.  It’s lovely with a dash of So Delicious Vanilla Bean coconut milk ice cream.


2 thoughts on “recipe: chocolate chip cookie pie

  1. Nom! This we can eat… adding stuff back in after an elimination diet is painfully slow. Do you mind sharing what brand dried chickpeas are working for you? I know my mileage may vary, but so far I’ve not found any dry ones we don’t have an issue with, though I’ve only tried 2 brands. For now we’re sticking to Eden’s canned beans.

    • I buy them in a 25lb back from my local food co-op. You should see if there is a United group near you (I have Associated Buyers which is smaller, but fabulous). I rinse 3+ times, swishing well with my hand so they rub together/get dirt and debris off. Soak. Rinse again. Cook. Some folks wash dried beans and grains with soap to address cross contamination. I wash well, but I don’t use soap.

Leave a Reply

