I found a unicorn

You see that right there? That my friends is a chocolate chip cookie. But not just ANY chocolate chip cookie. That cookie up there has no gluten, dairy, corn, soy, nuts or eggs in it. Nada. And they are straight up delicious. Reminds me of a Chips Ahoy Cookie, but soft. There’s something still just a titch off, something lost in translation likely. I don’t love the flavor, personally, but the texture is fabulous. It’s based off of this recipe here, which is based off this recipe here.

Here’s what I did differently:

  • used my flour mix and used 8 oz instead of 6 oz called for in the recipe
  • replaced the egg with 1 tsp chia and 3 Tbsp of water
  • cut the vanilla to 1/2 tsp
  • used the new Earth Balance Coconut Spread instead of butter
  • used Enjoy Life chocolate chips (never again, I broke out almost immediately, there’s corn in them there chips…)

What I did that I think helped (as opposed to my previous, very failed, attempts at allergen free cookies):

  • beat my oil and sugar mixture until it got fluffy (patience grasshopper…)
  • weighed out the sugar, flour mix and Coconut Spread
  • refrigerated the dough for at least 8 hours

What I want to try next time:

  • cut the molasses in half – I think it was too much for my taste
  • use a full tsp of vanilla
  • try palm shortening instead of the spread (which has natural flavors and canola oil, two things I’m not keen on)
  • use Tierra Farms chocolate chips (they have non-GMO soy lecithin, but I don’t seem to react)

I’ll keep you posted. In the meantime, I have a batch in the fridge with NO molasses that I’m going to try to swing as snickerdoodles tomorrow. Hopper told me today she loves everything I cook. Best. Compliment. Ever.

*Flour Mix

2.5 cups brown rice flour (I’ve used buckwheat and amaranth in the past)

1.5 cups millet flour

1.5 cups tapioca starch OR potato starch

1 Tbsp + 1 tsp guar gum

Leave a Reply

