press your luck

Disclaimer: I don’t usually, and don’t plan to continue, posting things like this.  However, considering the circumstances and potential, I just had to this one time. Please don’t leave me.

Does anyone remember that show from the 80’s?  No Whammy, no Whammy, STOP!

So I posted the other day about how lucky this unlucky gal has been lately.  I decided to press that luck just a little bit and enter another blog contest.  But this is a big one.  And to get some extra entries I have to blog about it.  Now usually, I am NOT a fan of such things and I balk at ‘hoop jumping’ for blog contests.  But for this, put on my jumping shoes and show me the hula hoop.

It’s for an iPad 2.  Really.  Click here to see for yourself.

Anyone who knows Pip knows that he would absolutely lose his mind if I won this.  I’d have to peel him off the ceiling.  More accurately, I’d have to peel him off the iPad.

It’s being given away by the folks at Support for Special Needs and Replace My Contacts. Random? A little.  Awesome? A lot.

The iPad has been very popular with special needs kids because it allows them access to technology and learning that they simply wouldn’t have easy access to otherwise.  My defacto step-daughter got one last year for Christmas because she has some physical disabilities that, for one thing, make typing really hard for her on a traditional keyboard.  It’s been extremely useful and a blessing for her.

Now, while Pip’s needs are different, he would certainly benefit from an iPad.  He struggles with organization because his little Aspergerian brain is going a million miles an hour all the time.  He just can’t stop himself to effectively juggle all of the requirements and responsibilities he has in school.  He’s a really booked kid for an elementary school kid.  Fifth grade has added band and chorus to the 4 times a week he’s pulled out of the class for advanced reading and math work.  Last year he was struggling so much with staying on top of homework I considered (for a few seconds anyway) pulling him from one or both of his advanced programs.  But then he would have been bored to tears IN class so that probably would have been worse.  This year we’ve been trying to be proactive about organization from the get go.  I’ve been brainstorming all the ways an iPad would help him stay on top of things and I’m sold.  Financially it’s no where near a reality for us, so to win this would be phenomenal, truly amazing.

This is where I give props to the folks actually giving away the iPad 2 (link love above).  Thank you for doing this, you are going to make a difference in the life of one family this holiday season!

Leave a Reply

